Product Review

The Green Samaritan

As far as products and reviews, we were impressed with how Nordgreen spends their time and efforts on the watches they offer and the positive steps they are taking in terms of sustainability.

Review 130

Book review: Angry Weather, by Friederike Otto

A Greener Life

Scientists want to give an answer, but there’s no time to study it while it’s still happening, or to run their findings through the traditional system of peer review. book review science Weather climate impacts emissions Extreme weather natural disasters scientistsBy Jeremy Williams.

Insiders

Sign Up for our Newsletter

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Trending Sources

Root Pouch – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) I encountered Root Pouch for the first time at the Garden Press Event 2020 in the beginning of March that year and it immediately, for me, ticked a number of boxes in the green department.

2020 163

Huskup – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Reusable and plastic free, Huskup brings takeaway coffee back down to earth Durable, biodegradable and entirely free from plastic, Huskup is tackling the UK’s disposable culture one flat white at a time with a brand new reusable coffee cup made from rice husks. coffee cup green living plastic plastic pollution Plastic Waste product review waste

2018 164

Earth Day Book Review 2021

Nature Conservancy - Science

The post Earth Day Book Review 2021 appeared first on Cool Green Science. Six books to celebrate the planet’s biodiversity and conservation. Latest Science Our Nature Reads

ARS long-reach pruner ? Product review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) The ARS-160-0.6 long-reach pruner is a cut and hold snipper, ideally suited for pruning of roses, for instance, but also for other tasks, including harvesting certain crops.

2020 238

Cool Green Fall Book Review

Nature Conservancy - Science

The post Cool Green Fall Book Review appeared first on Cool Green Science. Six nature and science books to entertain or inspire you when you need it. Ideas Our Nature Reads

2020 86

Film review: The People vs Climate Change

A Greener Life

climate change Film Review policy society UK UK politics BBC Climate Assembly climate crisis documentary LifestylePhoto credit: BBC. By Anders Lorenzen.

ARS-UVR-32PRO – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) ARS-UVR-32PRO from Sorbus International Pro pruning saw with sheath, curved blade 4mm pitch, rubber grip. Blade high-Carbon Steel with hard-chrome plating. Curvature ground teeth (SUPER TURBOCUT®) and impulse hardened. 4mm tooth pitch with 1.5 mm tooth thickness. Blade length 320 mm and overall length 480 mm with a weight of 430 grams.

2019 144

Cool Green Summer Book Review

Nature Conservancy - Science

Butterflies, wildflowers, mongooses and more: new nature books reviewed. Ideas Our Nature Reads

2020 73

Review Evaluates the Evidence for an Intensifying Indian Ocean Water Cycle

Environmental News Network

Review Evaluates the Evidence for an Intensifying Indian Ocean Water CycleReport calls for better integration of observations, models, and paleo proxies.

"Signed Peer Reviews"

Environmental Economics

The Journal of Ocean and Coastal Economics' (another one that doesn't appear in RePEc rankings yet) peer reviews are not even single blind. Linwood Pendleton : One possible approach to improving peer review is to eliminate anonymity. Anonymity  Anonymity in the peer-review system is outdated. In The Journal of Ocean and Coastal Economics, we are working to develop ways to connect editors, reviewers and authors in an open manner.

2015 138

Sprout Lands – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Sprout Lands by William Bryant Logan Published by W W Norton, April 2019 Hardcover 165 x 244 mm / 384 pages ISBN 9780393609417 Price: £19.99 Arborist William Bryant Logan recovers the lost tradition that sustained human life and culture for ten millennia. Farmers once knew how to make a living fence and fed their flocks on tree-branch hay.

2019 138

Churchill & Orwell – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Churchill & Orwell – The Fight For Freedom by Thomas E. book review Churchill Orwell politicsRicks Published 1st June 2017 Royal Hardback, £25 352 pages, with 26 b/w photographs ISBN 9780715652374 Liberty and truth have never been so topical.

2017 122

Futurekind – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Futurekind Design for and by the People by Dr. Rob Phillips Published by Thames & Hudson, May (16) 2019 240 pages 900 illustrations Hardback 25.5 x 21.0 cm ISBN: 978 0 500 519790 Price: 39.95 Hardback Manual and manifesto, an inspiration and a call to arms; this rich and timely survey is all in one and presents over sixty innovative, socially and environmentally conscious design projects changing the world for the better.

2019 138

The Cool Green Holiday Book Review 2020

Nature Conservancy - Science

The post The Cool Green Holiday Book Review 2020 appeared first on Cool Green Science. Seven nature, science and conservation books perfect for a gift – or escapist reading. Ideas Our Nature Reads

2020 84

Reviewer rant follow-up

Environmental Economics

My reply: It is #2 on my list of late papers to review. I should be able to finish the review in the next two weeks. From the inbox today: Dear John: It has been three weeks since your scores were due for the manuscript entitled [title]. How is it going? We are looking forward to hearing from you. If this is unacceptable and you would like to move on to another referee, please let me know.  

2017 109

When peer review isn't

Environmental Economics

I do this because X published a paper I refereed, a paper that I considered unsuitable for publication in a peer-reviewed journal. Even worse, they did not even bother to respond to my concerns (as is normal in the review process) before proceeding to publication. The worst part is that the author is likely to claim the paper as a "peer reviewed article" in their CV and for promotional purposes.

2015 138

Children’s Book Review: Wake up, Woods

Nature Conservancy - Science

A review of a beautiful new wildflower book for kids, Wake Up, Woods. Ideas Forests Our Nature Reads

2019 90

Growing Self-Sufficiency – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

A simple way to grow your own Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Growing Self-Sufficiency Realize your dream and enjoy producing your own fruit, vegetables, egg and meat. book review gardening green living grow your own Sally Nex self-sufficiencyEnjoy chicken, eggs, fruit, veg?

2017 133

Forthcoming book review

Environmental Economics

From the inbox: Thank you! Your proof corrections for AJAR - AUSTRALIAN JOURNAL OF AGRICULTURAL AND RESOURCE ECONOMICS : 12280 : Contingent Valuation of Environmental Goods: A Comprehensive Critique, by Daniel McFadden and Kenneth Train (Eds.). Published by Edward Elgar Publishing, 2017, 319 pages, ISBN: 978-1-78643-468-5, AU$210 have been received

2018 100

The Happy Hero – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) The Happy Hero Solitaire Townsend Published by Unbound October 2017 Paperback 192 pages £8.99 book review green living Solitaire Townsend The Happy HeroISBN: 978-1-91158-639-5 The Happy Hero comes with a promise: that you can be happier and healthier by simply making a difference to the world around you.

2017 122

The Book of Trees – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) The Book of Trees by Piotr Socha (Author), Wojciech Grajkowski (Author) Published by Thames and Hudson (Big Books) (13 Sept. book review trees wood2018) Hardcover: 80 pages Size: 15 x 2.2 x 21 cm ISBN-13: 978-0500651698 Why are trees so important? How many types are there? How do they benefit the environment and wildlife?

2018 125

Abundant Living – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

book review green living trees veganism wood

2015 140

Spear & Jackson Precision Snips – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Spear & Jackson PRECISION SNIPS SK5 steel blades for lasting sharpness with a built-in locking catch for safe transportation and storage SRP: £6.49 garden tools gardening gardening tools green living product review product test Spear & JacksonDon’t be fooled by their diminutive size; these Precision Snips with their long narrow blades are perfect for dead-heading, says the website and promises the advert.

2018 126

ALDI Gardenline Foldable Saw – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) ALDI Gardenline Foldable Saw Length approx. I purchased this saw, more or less, to try it out as to how it would perform and not, like often, given this as a review sample. Aldi Aldi UK bushcraft camping coppicing gardening Gardenline green living product review product test pruning pruning saw woodland management

2018 122

Beyond flying – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Beyond Flying Rethinking air travel in a globally connected world By Chris Watson Edited by Chris Watson with Chris Brazier, Rob Hopkins, Saci Lloyd, John Stewart, Kevin Anderson, Kate Andrews, Tom Bennion, Susan Krumdieck, Ed Gillespie, Adam Weymouth, Lowanna Doye and Nic Seton Published by Green Books, March 2014 208 pages, paperback, 198mm x 130mm ISBN: 9780857842091 Price: £9.99 Beyond flying book review Green Books

Review 138

Pets Aplenty – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Pets Aplenty by Malcolm D. I laughed a great deal with the first book that I reviewed by this author, namely “Pets in a Pickle” but this one has topped it. book review Malcolm Welshman Pets Aplenty Welshman Published by Austin Macauley Publishers 310 pages Paperback ISBN: 9781849639965 Price: £7.99

Review 126

What should a reviewer do when the journal increases the costs of providing a review?

Environmental Economics

It has gone down something like this: Get a review assignment from a journal. Journal sends me the paper to review via email. Can't login to submit my review. I submit my review via email. I receive an invitation to review the revised paper. Today] I'm now ready to submit my review. Am unable to login to the journal website to retrieve the paper. Find out that the journal has created two accounts for me.

2018 109

The Scent of Time – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) The scent of time A Philosophical Essay on the Art of Lingering By Byung-Chul Han Published 1st September 2017 by Polity Books (Part of Wiley) Paperback 146 pages Price: £9.99 book review green living living simple living slow life spirituality

2017 131

Bottle Pen – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

by Michael Smith (Veshengro) The Stationery Show 2014 in London, I know, is already a few months past and alas I only now am getting around to doing this review. Bottle Pen Enveco Ltd product review product test Shame on me, I know. Why “bottle pen” you may ask. Well, they, that is to say their bodies, are made from recycled PET bottles. But what else could you say about those pens? They write OK – actually very well – and handle well too.

The Communist Manifesto – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx & Friedrich Engels Originally published February 21, 1848 “There is still a compulsive quality to its prose as it provides insight after insight into the society in which we live, where it comes from and where its going to. Why a review of The Communist Manifesto seeing that it is that old already? book review communism Marxism politics socialism

2015 146

Ozlem’s Turkish Table: Our Review

Green Prophet

Book Reviews Food book review food and healthEvery Turkish kitchen produces dishes that began somewhere in Central Asia, the Middle East, Eastern Europe or the Balkans. Even with natural regional variations, there’s something characteristically Turkish in every bite you take. It’s the sweet/sour taste of pomegranate molasses, the tang of sumac, yogurt flavored with mint or dill, and Turkish pepper paste. So many flavors to intrigue and tease the palate.

2019 57

One Magic Square – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) One Magic Square Grow your own food on one square metre by Lolo Houbein 368 pages Hardback, 20 x 20 cm Published by: Green Books, 5th February 2015 Price: £19.99 book review Green Books green living Lolo Houbein One Magic Square ISBN: 9780857842800 Little Lolo Houbein was delighted with her gift of a cabbage from the friendly German soldier.

2015 144

Mokuru – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) This new toy is expected to overtake fidget spinners to become the next big craze – a fidget stick. Mokuru is a (weighted) wooden stick, about the same size as a cricket bail, and is being touted as the biggest toy to hit Britain since loom bands - because it's easy to play with but fiendishly difficult to master.

2017 122

Twist & Spout – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Here is a brilliant concept by Italian brand Vice Versa. Shop online at [link] To learn more about ViceVersa’s comprehensive line up of products and designs, visit UK distributer www.2tech.co.uk © 2014 Disclosure: I received a sample of the Twist & Spout water pourer for review purposes, but all opinions here are mine. The GREEN (LIVING) REVIEW received no compensation for any component of this article.

Review 116

Charlie Dimmock Multipurpose Garden Scissors – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Part of the new and exclusive Charlie Dimmock range at Poundland those narrow bladed multipurpose garden scissors are easy and precise to use so are ideal for dead heading, removing dead leaves and stems which in turn means more flowers and less chance of disease on plants. So, now to the review of The Charlie Dimmock Multipurpose Garden Scissors: Let me start first of all, if I may, with the packaging.

2017 122

GROW – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) GROW : A Family Guide to Growing Fruit & Veg by Ben Raskin Published Leaping Hare Press February 2017 (in association with the Soil Association) Hardcover: 48 pages - 15 x 2.2 x 21 cm Age Range: 8 - 11 years (or may be infinity) ISBN: 9781782404514 Price £9.99 Have you ever wondered how plants work and how they get their food? Or why we eat the fruit of one plant and the leaf of another?

2017 122

Keira Watering Can – Product Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) The Keira watering can is of a very snazzy and funky design which is beautiful but also practical and useable. I received my review sample of the Kiera watering can on the Press Day of the RHS Chelsea Flower Show 2013 and I chose the apple green color in the 2 liter version. product test garden tools gardening tools product review Keira watering can

Review 159

Learning with Nature – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Learning with Nature A how-to guide to inspiring children through outdoor games and activities By Marina Robb, Victoria Mew and Anna Richardson Published by Green Books, 29th January 2015 Paperback, 208 pages, 210mm x 210mm ISBN: 9780857842398 Price: £17.99 book review Green Books green living Learning with Nature

2015 133

Book Review: Secrets of Snakes

Nature Conservancy - Science

David Steen’s Secrets of Snakes will put to rest some of the myths you keep repeating. Wildlife Herps Our Nature Reads

2019 68

Edible Perennial Gardening – Book Review

Green (Living) Review

Review by Michael Smith (Veshengro) Edible Perennial Gardening Growing Successful Polycultures in Small Spaces by Anni Kelsey Published by Permanent Publications March 2014 176 pages, paperback, 240 x 170mm Illustrated with colour photographs throughout ISBN: 978 1 85623 149 7 Price: £14.95 Anni Kelsey book review Edible Perennial Gardening Permanent Publications

Review 141

The Island, movie review

The Alien Next Door

The Island received mixed reviews from critics, with a 40% “ Rotten ” rating, based on 185 reviews. Lincoln Six Echo Ewan McGregor dystopian film movie review Scarlett Johansson Michael Bay Steve Jablonsky prejudice The Island dystopia science fiction From its metaphoric title to its powerful end, Director Michael Bay’s The Island had me fully engaged.

Review 113